Print Page   |   Contact Us
Community Search
OSHA Live Training Webinars

Are you a pharmacist providing immunizations or CLIA-waived testing services or a pharmacy technician assisting in these services?

If you are at any risk for exposure to bloodborne pathogens, you are required to have live OSHA training every year.

OSHA’s fines for non-compliance can exceed $90,000.  You can comply with OSHA’s training requirements for less than $70.  (You do the math.)

Even if you participate in an OSHA training program every year, you are not in compliance with OSHA’s requirements if the training doesn’t have a LIVE component.

The Tennessee Pharmacists Research and Education Foundation (TPREF) is offering an ACPE-accredited OSHA training webinar that meets all of OSHA’s training requirements and APA is partnering with TPA to make it available to our members at a discounted rate. The 2016 OSHA Update webinar can protect you and your pharmacy practice site against potentially devastating OSHA fines—and your pharmacy site can continue to protect the public against potentially devastating disease.

The webinar program is presented online by Stephan Foster, PharmD, FAPhA, FNAP.  Dr. Foster is a retired Captain in the U.S. Public Health Service and a retired Professor at the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy. He is the APhA liaison to the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practice (ACIP).  He is nationally known for his work on pharmacist-provided immunization and brings significant expertise in the area of bloodborne pathogens and OSHA regulations.  Dr. Foster is on the Speakers’ Bureau for Merck, Pfizer and Sanofi-Pasteur.

The program’s webinar format affords the convenience of participating from your own computer, or participating with others using a single computer. For your added convenience, the program is offered on the following dates and times, so you can select the one that best fits into your busy schedule:

Date Time
Tuesday, October 4, 2016 12:00 noon CT (1:00 p.m. ET)
Tuesday, October 4, 2016 6:00 p.m. CT (7:00 p.m. ET)
Friday, October 14, 2016 12:00 noon CT (1:00 p.m. ET)
Friday, October 14, 2016 6:00 p.m. CT (7:00 p.m. ET)
Wednesday, November 16, 2016 10:00 a.m. CT (11:00 a.m. ET)
Wednesday, November 16, 2016

5:00 p.m. CT (6:00 p.m. ET)

 Tuesday, December 6, 2016  1:00 p.m. CT (2:00 p.m. ET)
 Tuesday, December 6, 2016  7:00 p.m. CT (8:00 p.m. ET)



Registration Fees for Pharmacists and Technicians 

APA Member $40
APA Non-Member $65

Questions?  Please call Lucy Adkins at the Tennessee Pharmacists Association at 1-615-256-3023.


ACPE Information

Program Objectives:

  • Identify potential bloodborne pathogens and their modes of transmission.
  • Explain the requirements for pharmacists and pharmacy technicians to comply with the Bloodborne Pathogens Standards.
  • Describe engineering and work practice controls that can help minimize exposure risks.
  • List the hepatitis B vaccination requirements for health care workers.
  • Outline the proper post-exposure response.


Tennessee Pharmacists Consortium for Education (TCPE) is accredited by the Accreditation COuncil for Pharmacy Education as a provider of continuing pharmacy education.  This webinar will provide one (1) hour of ACPE-accredited continuing education credits to to pharmacists and pharmacy technicians who attend the session and complete the online activities (activity evaluation and post-test) required to claim credit.

ACPE logo ACPE #0575-0000-16-139-L04-P/T (Pharmacists and Pharmacy Technicians)
Credits: 1 (0.1 CEU) hour ACPE-accredited live CE
Target Audience: Pharmacists and Pharmacy Technicians

 Click here to view TPA's program information.
 

 

Sign In
Sign In securely
Latest News
APA CALENDAR

8/26/2017
2017 Immunization Refresher Course

8/26/2017
2017 APhA Pharmacy-Based Immunization Delivery Training Program

9/7/2017
2017 APA Regional Meeting - Anniston

9/14/2017
2017 APA Regional Meeting - Tuscaloosa

9/18/2017
2017 APA Regional Meeting - Florence