Print Page   |   Contact Us
Community Search
News & Press: APA Press Release

Anne Saunders and Morgan Sellars Receive the 2018 R. Lee Evans Student Professionalism Award

Wednesday, June 20, 2018   (0 Comments)
Share |


June 20, 2018

MONTGOMERY, AL – On June 12, 2018, the Alabama Pharmacy Association (APA) awarded both Anne Saunders of Montgomery, and Morgan Sellars of Lowndesboro, the R. Lee Evans Student Professionalism Award at APA’s 137th Annual Convention held at the Grand Hotel Marriott Resort in Point Clear, Ala.

This award is presented annually to a student of Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy (HSOP) who is an APA member. It recognizes a student leader who demonstrates a high level of professionalism in school and other pharmacy-related endeavors. This year two students were recognized due to their accomplishments. Both honorees are 2019 Pharm. D. Candidates at HSOP.

Saunders graduated from Auburn University in May 2015, Magna Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Biomedical Sciences Degree. Her service includes Pharmacy Student Ambassador, Phi Lambda Sigma treasurer, National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) Student Leadership Council, NCPA student chapter president, Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity/Delta Gamma Chapter treasurer, and Auburn’s Christian Pharmacists Fellowship International.  She has been an active member of APA since 2015. She has been involved in the United States Drug Enforcement Agency’s Drug Take-Back Day, Christian Care Ministries Soup Kitchen, Medicare Outreach Program, American Red Cross Blood Drive, American Pharmacists Association (APhA) – Academy of Student Pharmacists (ASP) Health Fair, and serves on the Harrison School of Pharmacy Admissions Committee. She has participated in multiple NCPA Congressional events in Washington to advocate for legislation benefiting community pharmacy.

Sellars has held numerous leadership positions including Alumni Affairs Coordinator for the school’s student ambassador group and often works with the Office of Development and Alumni Affairs at donor and alumni events. She is a member of the Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy and has served as Co-President. In addition, she is a member of NCPA, Auburn’s Christian Pharmacists Fellowship International, Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society, and the Rho Chi National Honor Society. She has attended multiple local, state and national events to further the agenda of the profession of pharmacy. She has been an active member of APA since 2015, and this past year she served on the APA Board of Trustees as the Auburn Student Representative.

Both of these ladies have exhibited outstanding leadership on campus and are deserving of this recognition,” said APA Executive Director Louise Jones. “APA is proud to honor both with this award.”

The Alabama Pharmacy Association is a nonprofit professional organization with over 2,600 members statewide. The APA offers continuing education programs for pharmacists and pharmacy technicians, and members take a leading role in lobbying for pharmacy at the state and national level. The APA was established in 1881 and is the oldest professional organization for pharmacy in the state. APA members represent all practices of pharmacy and are committed to their profession and their patients.