Print Page   |   Contact Us
Community Search
News & Press: APA Press Release

Mark Gilliam Receives the Joseph O. Dean, Jr. Student Professionalism Award

Wednesday, June 20, 2018   (0 Comments)
Share |


June 20, 2018

MONTGOMERY, AL - The Alabama Pharmacy Association (APA) awarded Mark Gilliam, of Birmingham, the Joseph O. Dean, Jr. Student Professionalism Award on June 12, 2018 at APA’s Annual Convention held in Point Clear, Ala. at the Grand Hotel Marriott Resort.

This award is presented annually to a student of Samford University McWhorter School of Pharmacy who is an APA member. It recognizes a student leader who demonstrates a high level of professionalism in school and other pharmacy-related endeavors.

Gilliam is a 2019 Pharm.D. Candidate at the Samford University McWhorter School of Pharmacy. As a student, he has served as Class President for the class of 2019. He is presently the ambassador for the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Institute on Alcoholism and Drug Dependency, on the Student Pharmacist Editorial Advisory Board and the APhA-Academy of Student Pharmacists National Standing Committee on Communications. He has been very active in pharmacy legislative matters in the state of Alabama and has traveled to the state capital to advocate for the profession. He became a member of APA in 2015 and during his third year of pharmacy school, served on the APA board as the Samford-McWhorter Student Representative.

"Mark is an outstanding student pharmacist who has demonstrated high-level leadership,” said Louise Jones, APA Executive Director. “The future of pharmacy is bright with those like him joining the profession.”

The Alabama Pharmacy Association is a nonprofit professional organization with over 2,600 members statewide. The APA offers continuing education programs for pharmacists and pharmacy technicians, and members take a leading role in lobbying for pharmacy at the state and national level. The APA was established in 1881 and is the oldest professional organization for pharmacy in the state. APA members represent all practices of pharmacy and are committed to their profession and their patients.

Mark Gilliam, right, receives the Joseph O. Dean, Jr. Student Professionalism Award from Michael Crouch, Dean of Samford-McWhorter.